Post by Jim Bunselmeier » Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:38 pm

SCSBOA, WBA, CSBC, MBOS

magicsax22
Rookie
Rookie

Re: Southern California field show circuits - pros and cons

Post by magicsax22 » Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:46 pm

Ok everyone....play nice.....

I'm actually curious about this mainly because I've only ever competed SCSBOA, primarily from convenience of show locations and the cost saving associate with traveling less distance.

So for SCSBOA and my particular situation as a teacher I would say location of tournaments is a pro. I've looked into some of the circuits before and always found options to be more limited which would mean traveling longer distances regularly, which becomes more costly since my district charges by hour and mile for trips.

I think a con when competing SCSBOA is that, since SCSBOA isn't actually a circuit and just provides judges, some of the shows are run significantly better than others between suitability of the location to actually be used for a competition, and other factors like the level of organization of the show, standardization of pricing, and so forth.

I don't really know much about any of the other groups. I went to one WBA show probably 10 or 12 years ago just to spectate so I don't know the director / performer side of things.